Newsletter Signup

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

The Town Council is made up of 15 Councillors who are elected every four years.  The next planned elections will be in 2019.

The Town Mayor and the Deputy Town Mayor are elected by the Councillors each year at the Annual Statutory Meeting of the Council held in May. At the same meeting Councillors decide which Committees they will sit on for the coming year and who will be the Council’s Representatives to Outside Bodies.

All Council meetings are held in the Council Chamber, on the first floor of the Civic Centre and are open to the public. Agendas are available to the public prior to the meetings, on notice boards throughout the town and on the Council’s website. At these meetings members of the public are allowed to address Councillors, on items on the agenda, at the discretion of the Chairman of each meeting.

The Council Offices
The Council Offices are situated on the first floor of the Civic Centre, and are open Monday to Thursday 9.00am - 5.00pm, Friday 9.00am to 4.00pm.

The Town is represented by five District Councillors and two County Councillors.